Skip to content

Under 14’s Win Championship Semi-Final!!!

Under 14’s Win Championship Semi-Final!!! published on


Multy GAA Under 14’s
Multyfarnham 2-10
Tyrrellspass 2-8

Multy U14’s secured the second final appearance of the year for the club with a hard fought victory over a tough and talented Tyrrellspass team, in what was a very entertaining semi final clash in Milltown.
A very strong wind made this a typical game of two half’s with Tyrrellspass enjoying the advantage in the first. Multy had to play into the breeze but that did not stop them from striking first with Brendan McCarthy getting off the mark by sticking the ball in the back of the net. ‘Pass look troubled but they settled themselves and started their response. Led by a very strong midfield and a fast,skilful forward-line, they tried valiantly to put the game beyond a doubt before half-time. Twice they put the ball in the back of the Multy net which could have been more but for the brilliant goal keeping by Evan Hales. He repeatedly came to the rescue with some fine saves to keep his team within shouting distance.

The breeze was a real advantage to ‘Pass but they did not bank on a fullback line of Laurence Monaghan, Feichin Brennan and Adam Bates. The Multy lads had a difficult time with their opponents but they handled themselves very well. Alan McDonnell, Eric Molloy and Jack Moran were excellent at carrying ball out of the back line and linking up with the strong midfield pair of Aaron Whelan and Noel Bardon. Jamie Coffey, Ciaran Bawle and Colin Pantry had a very difficult time in the first half however they all got back and helped out in defence. Brendan McCarthy, Josh Lee and Cian O’Fiach all played their part in trying to keep the score board ticking over while at the same time making nothing easy for the opposition defenders.

While Tyrrellspass enjoyed the best of it in the first, a score line of 2-7 to 1-3 at half-time is nothing really at this grade. A couple of subs were brought on and with the wind at their backs Multyfarnham set about chasing after Tyrrellspass. Normally at this level goals are in the abundance and it is a credit to the skill level displayed by the goalkeepers for both sides that the amount of goals was kept so low. Both keepers played their part by pulling off some very fine saves to leave this game very tight for the majority of the second half. As was always going to happen Multy had chipped over some excellent points with Noel Bardon, Aaron Whelan, Ciaran Bawle and Cian O’Fiach all getting involved and with just two points between them Multy went looking for a goal.

However time after time as they broke through they were denied by the pass goalkeeper.
Substitutions can win games though and with the introduction of Andrew Hogan at midfield, Luke Nangle in the forwards and Eoghan Kelly in defence, Multyfarnham’s superiority began to shine through. Nangle was proving to be a nightmare to the ‘Pass defenders with his link playing bringing the power house that is Andrew Hogan into play. Still though the Tyrrellspass defence showed their resilience by withholding the Multy tide. With a steady ship at the back Laurence Monaghan felt comfortable in pushing forward and when he fielded beautifully from a ‘Pass kick out he burst forward with Hogan running support on his shoulder. Monaghan drew the defender and passed inside to Hogan who, with seemingly a lot of work still to do, unleashed a blistering shot to the top corner that nearly burst the back of the net.
The lead was back with Multy again but they had to withhold a determined fight back from Tyrrellspass however it was not to be for the Senior club side. The final whistle came and Multy were through to the final. This was an incredible hard fought and resilient victory over a very good and well trained Tyrrellspass team who are a credit to themselves, their coaches and their club.
For Multy a second final appearance in a row at this grade now awaits, details of which will soon be forthcoming.
Panel: Noel Barden (0-1), Ciaran Bawle(0-2),Bernard Cox, Christopher Feerick, Andrew Hogan (1-1), Eoghan Kelly, Brendan McCarthy (1-0), Eric Molloy, Jack Moran, Luke Nangle(0-1), Colin Pantrey, Aaron Whelan(0-3), Adam Bates, Jamie Coffey, Patrick Davitt, Evan Hales, Josh Lee, Alan McDonnell, Lolly Monaghan, Paul Mulligan, Cian O’Fiach(0-2), Eoin Walsh, Fechin Brennan.

Primary Sidebar